Seaforth Hawks clinch 2024 North Carolina 2A Golf Championship

Monroe, NC – The Seaforth High School Hawks have etched their names in the annals of golfing history by clinching the 2024 North Carolina 2A Golf Championship. The Hawks’ victory came after a playoff against Pine Lake Prep, where they edged out their rivals on the second playoff hole to secure their first NCHSAA Men’s Golf Championship.

The Hawks entered the second day of the competition trailing Pine Lake Prep by three strokes. However, they rallied with a performance that saw them tie with Pine Lake Prep at the end of the second day. This set the stage for a playoff that would decide the championship.

Both teams made par on the first hole. However, on the second hole, the Hawks managed to top Pine Lake Prep by two shots, sealing their victory in a thrilling fashion.

Seaforth sophomore Ty Willoughby played a pivotal role in the Hawks’ victory. Willoughby won the individual championship, carding a 67 in round one and a 68 in round two to finish nine-under-par and five shots ahead of East Surry sophomore and defending champion Pennson Badgett.

Seaforth sophomore golfer Ty Willoughby

This win marks a significant milestone for Seaforth High School, as it is their first NCHSAA Men’s Golf Championship.

2A Boys Golf Individual Leaderboard | Final Results

1. Ty Willoughby (Seaforth) | 135 (-9)
2. Pennson Badgett (East Surry) | 140 (-4)
3. Griffin Ching (Seaforth) | 142 (-2)
T4. Will Dement (Louisburg) | 143 (-1)
T4. Holden Rucker (Farmville Central) | 143 (-1)
6. John McCoy (Salisbury) | 144 (E)
T7. Slater Meade (West Wilkes) | 146 (+2)
T7. Wills Eller (Wilkes Central) | 146 (+2)
T7. Jonathon Jones (Lincoln Charter) | 146 (+2)
T7. Brock Reid (Chase) | 146 (+2)

2A Boys Golf Team Leaderboard | Final Results

1. Seaforth – 594 (won playoff in 2 holes)
2. Pine Lake Prep – 594
3. Salisbury – 616
T4. East Surry – 633
T4. Newton-Conover – 633
T6. Princeton – 661
T6. East Rutherford – 661
8. North Surry – 663
9. Franklin Academy – 669
10. Martin County – 682
11. Roanoke Rapids – 709
12. Farmville Central – 730