Sheriff Mike Roberson honors the Best of the Best at annual award ceremony

Pittsboro, NC – On Thursday, February 15, Sheriff Mike Roberson hosted the Annual Chatham County Sheriff’s Office Award Ceremony, celebrating the achievements of the dedicated individuals who serve within the agency.

Gathering at the Pittsboro United Methodist Church’s Family Life Center, Sheriff’s Office staff joined family
and friends to honor their peers and commend each award recipient.

“It’s always a pleasure to acknowledge the hard work and remarkable service provided by our team,” said
Sheriff Roberson. “I want to sincerely thank each one of you. Your professionalism, integrity, and commitment to one another are truly commendable. You exemplify dedication and compassion in all that you do, and for that I am immensely grateful.”

The Rookie Civilian of the Year title was bestowed upon Renee Burger.

Deputy Reid Kirkman was honored as Deputy of the Year.

Detention Officer Deonna Overton earned the Rookie Detention Officer of the Year accolade.

Deputy Paul Durazo was recognized as Rookie Deputy of the Year.

Animal Resource Center Shelter Attendant Lisa Mason was named Civilian of the Year.

SSgt. Chris Marcum was recognized as Detention Officer of the Year.

SSgt. Chris Marcum also received the Community Service Award for dedicating an impressive 55.5 hours to community service, the highest in the Sheriff’s Office for 2023.

The Criminal Investigations Division was honored with the Unit Achievement Award, acknowledging their
outstanding teamwork, professionalism, and performance that consistently exceeds expectations.
SSgt. Anthony Norton and Deputy Wes Chafa each received a Lifesaving Award for actions they took on June 19, 2023, to administer CPR to a patient in full cardiac arrest, playing an essential role in restoring the patient’s pulse.

Deputy Jonathan Frazier and Deputy Matthew Mitchell received Lifesaving Awards for their actions on
September 9, 2023, providing life-saving aid to a man who had suffered a severe cut and was losing a
significant amount of blood.

Deputy Matthew Mitchell received the Firearms Top Performance Award for achieving the highest score on yearly firearms qualifications in 2023.

Meritorious Awards were conferred upon several individuals for their exceptional dedication and contributions throughout 2023, including Investigator Jed Bristow, SSgt. Chris Burger, Deputy Jason Kane, Detention Maintenance Supervisor Casey Kitzman, Deputy Brian Palmiter, SSgt. Luisa Rojas, Victim Assistance Coordinator Dawn Stallings, Deputy Brent Ward, and Lt. Rischetta White.

Certificates of Appreciation were awarded to commend Investigator Tyler Bridges, Beth Dickens, Deputy
Jonathan Frazier, Deputy Reggie Griffin, Investigator Branden Havens, Crime Analyst Brooke Hill, Investigator Amy Marris, Investigator Chris Massey, Shelter Attendant Lisa Mason, Investigator Jon Murray, Lt. Stephen Renn, Public Information Officer Randall Rigsbee, and Deputy Tim White for their outstanding contributions and service.

Special recognition was extended to Mountaire Farms for their outstanding community service and generosity in supporting CCSO events, and to William “Bill” Frick for his dedication and compassion in fundraising for Special Olympics North Carolina and mentoring within the Sheriff’s Office.

Years of Service Awards were presented to Shelter Manager Kristen Gordon, Deputy Reggie Griffin, Deputy Dalton Oldham, Dana Smoak, Investigator Olivia Soles, SSgt. Tracey Walker Sutton, Deputy Jessie Taub (5 years of service); Lt. Abby Bristow, Deputy Alberto Estrada, Deputy Reid Kirkman, Doris Raines (10 years of service); Sara Allen, Paul Carroll, Lt. Jessica Norton, Deputy Tim White (15 years of service).

Receiving Intermediate Law Enforcement Certificates were Deputy Alberto Estrada, SSgt. Robert Hussey,
Deputy Matthew Mitchell, Corp. Robert Pelkey, and Deputy Tyler Welch.

Advance Certificates were presented to Lt. Abby Bristow and Deputy Tyler Clark.