Haw River Christian Academy dominates VFW essay competitions: A showcase of talent and patriotism

Pittsboro, NC – Each year, the Veterans of Foreign Wars (VFW) holds two youth essay competitions. More than 68,000 students in grades 6-8 enter the VFW’s Patriot’s Pen youth essay contest. This essay contest encourages young minds to examine America’s history, along with their own experiences in modern American society by drafting a 300 to 400 word essay expressing their views based on a patriotic theme chosen by the VFW Commander-in-Chief. The 2023-24 theme was “How Are You Inspired by America?”.

Sofia Timpy

Students from Haw River Christian Academy in Pittsboro, NC won the top three places in Chatham County. They were entered into the regional competition.

  • First Place: Sofia Timpy (7th Grade – $200 award)
  • Second Place: Carter Melton (7th Grade – $150 award)
  • Third Place: Duncan Kelly (7th Grade – $100 award)

Haw River Christian Academy high school students entered the Voice of Democracy contest also held by the VFW. Each year, nearly 25,000 9th through 12th grade students from across the country enter this contest. he subject of this audio essay was, “What Are the Greatest Attributes of Our Democracy?”

Haw River Christian Academy also placed first, second and third place in Chatham County for this competition, as well as having a student selected as “District Winner” for the North Carolina Voice of Democracy competition. He will be entered into the regional competition.

District Winner for NC Jackson Batchelor

First Place for Chatham County and a “District Winner for NC”: Jackson Batchelor. Jackson has been invited to the NC VFW Council of Administration VOD banquet on Saturday, February 3, 2024, at 7pm. During the banquet he will receive a minimum of a $1,000 scholarship award. The Department winner (to be announced) will receive $5,000 and will read their essay entry during the banquet. He also received $200 for First Place in the County.

  • Second Place: Madison Bodine (12th grade – $150 award)
  • Third Place: Connor Jacoby (12th grade – $100 award)