Duke falls short as Notre Dame rolls to ACC lacrosse championship victory

Charlotte, NC – Top-seeded Notre Dame rolled to the 2024 Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Lacrosse Championship on Sunday, defeating No. 3-seeded Duke, 16-6, at American Legion Memorial Stadium in Charlotte, North Carolina. The Fighting Irish (12-1) won their fourth ACC title in program history (2014, 2018, 2022).

Notre Dame is the 2024 ACC Lacrosse Champion (photo by Gene Galin)
Graduate goalie Liam Entenmann was named the tournament’s Most Valuable Player after racking up 28 saves in wins over Virginia and Duke. The ACC’s Defensive Player of the Year and Goalie of the Year, Entenmann led a Notre Dame defense that allowed just 15 goals in two games this weekend.
The Fighting Irish matched a tournament record for goals in a tournament with 34, tying North Carolina’s record, set in 2013.
Chris Kavanagh scored three goals and added two assists for Notre Dame, while Jake Taylor also recorded a hat trick. Dyson Williams led the Blue Devils (12-5) with two goals and an assist. The Irish were strong at the faceoff X, winning 16 of 25, including Will Lynch winning 15 of his 21 attempts.
Notre Dame started fast, scoring the game’s first five goals, and maintained at least a four-goal advantage the rest of the way. Kavanagh’s goal with 1:14 remaining in the first quarter gave the Irish a 5-0 advantage, but Williams got the Blue Devils on the board with nine seconds left in the quarter.
Duke pulled within five, 11-6, on Williams’ goal just nine seconds into the fourth quarter, but Notre Dame pulled away and scored the game’s final five goals.
The 16-team field for the NCAA Tournament will be announced on Sunday, May 5, at 9:30 p.m. ET on ESPN2. The championship gets underway with eight games at host sites on May 11 and 12.
2024 ACC All-Tournament Team
Liam Entenmann, Notre Dame (MVP)
Chris Kavanagh, Notre Dame
Shawn Lyght, Notre Dame
Will Lynch, Notre Dame
Devon McLane, Notre Dame
Jake Taylor, Notre Dame
Andrew McAdorey, Duke
Kenny Brower, Duke
Brennan O’Neill, Duke
Dyson Williams, Duke
Joey Spallina, Syracuse
2024 ACC Men’s Lacrosse Championship
American Legion Memorial Stadium, Charlotte, N.C.
Friday, May 3 – Semifinals
No. 1 Notre Dame 18, No. 4 Virginia 9
No. 3 Duke 18, No. 2 Syracuse 13
Sunday, May 5 – Championship
No. 1 Notre Dame 16, No. 3 Duke 6