Dave Doeren announces NC State football team captains

Raleigh, NC – The NC State football team elected its captains for the upcoming season on Friday and head coach Dave Doeren announced the results following today’s scrimmage at Carter-Finley Stadium.

Center Grant Gibson and linebacker Isaiah Moore were voted captains for the third straight season, marking the first three-time captains in school history. Preseason ACC Player of the Year Devin Leary will serve in that leadership role for the second season and linebacker Drake Thomas, who finished the 2021 season as captain, will return in that role for 2022.

Joining them will be offensive lineman Bryson Speas and nose tackle Cory Durden.

“We have great leadership throughout our team, but these are the best of the best,” said Doeren. “They have earned the trust and respect of their teammates and coaches and really embody the one Pack, one goal culture that we have established here.”