Hayesville outlasts Chatham Charter in State Championship game, 54-43

Raleigh, NC – Hayesville exploded for 17 points in overtime to pull away from Chatham Charter and collect the Yellow Jackets’ second state championship in program history. Kolbe Ashe led the Yellow Jackets with 29 points and grabbed four points with a pair of assists and steals on his way to being named the Charlie Adams Most Valuable Player.

Both teams struggled from the field with Chatham Charter shooting just 27.6% from the floor while Hayesville shot 35% in the game. The Yellow Jackets didn’t crack double figures in a quarter until the final frame, putting up 14 points in the fourth and just missing the opportunity to close the game in regulation with Taylor McClure’s layup getting blocked by Brennen Oldham to keep the game tied at 37 and send it to overtime.

Jake McTaggart was a machine for Hayesville, ripping down 18 rebounds to match his 18 points. McTaggart added seven blocks in the game on his way to being named the Most Outstanding Player for the Yellow Jackets.

Chatham Charter had three players in double figures, led by Beau Harvey who dumped in 16 points and grabbed eight rebounds on his way to Most Outstanding Player honors for the Knights. His brother, Adam Harvey, also was in double figures with 11 points and nine rebounds. Amir Mapp also scored 10 points with his five rebounds.

Chatham Charter finished the season 33-2. The Knights were 10-0 as the champions of the Central Tar Heel 1A. The Knights won the regional championship for the first time in school history and appeared in their first state championship game.

Hayesville finished the season 28-0. The Yellow Jackets were the champions of the Smoky Mountain 1A. Hayesville won the Western Regional for the third year in school history.

The NCHSAA is committed to recognizing and promoting outstanding sportsmanship and has partnered with the North Carolina Farm Bureau to recognize two players from each NCHSAA State Championship with the NC Farm Bureau Sportsmanship Award. The 2022 1A Men’s Basketball Sportsmanship Award Winners were Adam Harvey from Chatham Charter and Cade Denton from Hayesville.