ACC announces Honor Roll for 2016-2017 academic year

Greensboro, NC – The 61st annual Atlantic Coast Conference Honor Roll was announced today, recognizing academic excellence by the league’s student-athletes during the 2016-17 academic year.

The ACC Honor Roll is comprised of student-athletes who participated in a varsity-level sport and registered a grade point average of 3.0 or better for the full academic year. The conference recognized a record 4,472 student-athletes for their hard work in the classroom.

Duke led all schools with 489 student-athletes recognized, and Notre Dame followed with 445. Boston College saw 422 student-athletes achieve Honor Roll status.

North Carolina had 385 student-athletes recognized, followed by Louisville with 351 and Virginia with 323. Syracuse was next with 282, followed by Virginia Tech with 278, Florida State with 252, Pitt with 239, NC State with 232, Clemson with 228, Georgia Tech with 184, and Miami and Wake Forest with 181 each.

Ten schools had at least one student-athlete who earned ACC Honor Roll status for the fifth time (Notre Dame, Pitt, Syracuse and Louisville have not yet completed five full academic years as league members):

Boston College – McKenzie Meehan (women’s soccer), Wan Yi Sweeting (women’s tennis)

Clemson – Patrick Andrews (baseball), Mary Kretzer (rowing), Jenna Polonsky (women’s soccer)

Duke – DeVon Edwards (football), Jake Faust (wrestling), Madison Granger (women’s cross country/track & field), Jaimee Gundry (women’s swimming & diving), Thomas Hennessy (football), Erich Schneider (football), Thomas Sirk (football), Tanner Stone (football), Ryan Thompson (soccer), A.J. Wolf (football), Michael Wright (wrestling)

Florida State – Kalonji Cole (men’s swimming & diving), Kirsten Crowley (women’s soccer), Bryan LaCivita (football)

Georgia Tech – Samantha Kase (women’s swimming & diving), Jonathan King (baseball), Isiah Willis (football)

Miami – Gracie Lachowecki (women’s soccer), Austin Pfenninger (football)

North Carolina – R.J. Alowonle (men’s track & field), Emma Bozek (field hockey), Carly Davis (women’s lacrosse), Sarah Howard (women’s track & field), Mark Rizzo (men’s lacrosse)

NC State – Kaitlyn Kramer (women’s cross country and track & field), Ashley Williams (women’s basketball)

Virginia – Nicholas Conte (football), Chris Yankowich (wrestling),

Wake Forest –Ryan Janvion (football)

In addition to All-ACC Academic Teams, the Atlantic Coast Conference recognized Scholar Athletes of the Year in each of its 27 sports earlier in the 2016-17 academic year: Louisville’s Drew Ellis (baseball), Miami’s Davon Reed (men’s basketball), Duke’s Lexie Brown (women’s basketball), Louisville’s Edwin Kibichiy (men’s cross country), Clemson’s Grace Barnett (women’s cross country), Duke’s Pascual Di Tella (men’s fencing), Duke’s Rita Somogyi (women’s fencing), North Carolina’s Emma Bozek (field hockey), Wake Forest’ Ryan Janvion (football), Virginia’s Jimmy Stanger (men’s golf), Duke’s Leona Maguire (women’s golf), Notre Dame’s Sergio Perkovic (men’s lacrosse), North Carolina’s Marie McCool (women’s lacrosse), Virginia’s Georgia Ratcliff (rowing), Wake Forest’s Jacori Hayes (men’s soccer), Duke’s Christina Gibbons (women’s soccer), Florida State’s Alex Powers (softball), NC State’s Anton Ipsen (men’s swimming & diving), NC State’s Alexia Zevnik (women’s swimming & diving), Virginia’s Thai-Son Kiwatkowski (men’s tennis), North Carolina’s Hayley Carter (women’s tennis), Virginia Tech’s Torben Laidig (men’s indoor track and field), Virginia’s Filip Mihaljevic (men’s outdoor track and field), Virginia Tech’s Hanna Green (women’s indoor track & field and women’s outdoor track & field), Georgia Tech’s Teegan Van Gunst (volleyball) and Virginia Tech’s Jared Haught (wrestling).

Please see the link below for the complete 2016-17 ACC Honor Roll: