Here are the 2022-23 Chatham County Schools Teachers of the Year

Pittsboro, NC – Each of the schools in the Chatham County Schools district has chosen the 2022-23 Teacher of the Year.

The following were selected:

  • Bennett School — Sarah Parsons
  • Bonlee School — Janelle Tally
  • Chatham Central High School — Cassadi Walden
  • Chatham Grove Elementary — Brandy Varner
  • Chatham Middle School — Michelle Maxfield
  • Chatham School for Science and Engineering — Anna Blackwell
  • George Moses Horton Middle School — Johnna Canipe
  • J. S. Waters School — Stephanie Nipper
  • Jordan-Matthews High School — Robert Palmer
  • Margaret B. Pollard Middle School — Christine Bryant
  • Moncure School — Brenton Winston
  • North Chatham Elementary — Sarah Fisher
  • Northwood High School — Edward Walgate
  • Perry Harrison Elementary — Ellen Earixson
  • Pittsboro Elementary School — Karen Jeremiah
  • Seaforth High School — Heather Algiere
  • Siler City Elementary School — Tracy Troxler
  • Silk Hope School — Zachary Campbell
  • Virginia Cross Elementary School — Jarrett Corder

Their selections are part of the Burroughs Wellcome Fund North Carolina Teacher of the Year program.

The program strives to recognize and honor teachers who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and excellence in teaching, according to the N.C. Department of Public Instruction. Among other goals, it seeks to model best practices in teaching.

“We believe it is extremely important to spotlight the excellence in education taking place in Chatham County Schools,” said Superintendent Dr. Anthony Jackson. “We appreciate the dedication and innovation our educators bring to the classroom every day. These 19 teachers should be extremely proud of what they have accomplished, and I am thrilled to be able to publicly recognize them and their contributions to high-quality education.”