2019 NCAA women’s basketball tournament dates, schedule

The 2019 NCAA women’s basketball tournament features 64 teams playing for a national title. Below, find the complete schedule and dates for the tournament.

NC State vs Louisville in ACC Women’s Basketball Tournament. (photo by Gene Galin)

The tournament selection show is set for Monday, March 18. That is when the field of 64 and individual seeds are revealed. After the regular season, 32 teams will qualify with automatic bids through conference tournaments. The remaining 32 teams will be selected as at-larges.

2019 NCAA women’s basketball tournament dates, schedule

Selection ShowMonday, March 18N/AN/A
First Round
(Round of 64)
Friday, March 22
Saturday, March 23
Campus sitesCampus sites
Second Round
(Round of 32)
Sunday, March 24
Monday, March 25
Campus sitesCampus sites
Albany Regional
(Sweet 16, Elite Eight)
Friday, March 29
Sunday, March 31
Albany, N.Y.Times Union Center
Chicago Regional
(Sweet 16, Elite Eight)
Saturday, March 30
Monday, April 1
ChicagoWintrust Arena
Greensboro Regional
(Sweet 16, Elite Eight)
Saturday, March 30
Monday, April 1
Greensboro, N.C.Greensboro Coliseum
Portland Regional
(Sweet 16, Elite Eight)
Friday, March 29
Sunday, March 31
Portland, Ore.Moda Center
Women’s Final Four
National Championship
Friday, April 5
Sunday, April 7
Tampa, Fla.Amalie Arena

MORE: 2019 NCAA women’s basketball tournament interactive bracket | 2018 final bracket

2019 NCAA women’s basketball tournament: Game times

Here are the game times for the Regional site games and the Final Four and National Championship Game:

AlbanyMarch 29, March 317 p.m., 9:30 p.m.12 p.m.
ChicagoMarch 30, April 14 p.m., 6:30 p.m.9 p.m.
GreensboroMarch 30, April 111:30 a.m., 2 p.m.7 p.m.
PortlandMarch 29, March 319 p.m., 11:30 p.m.2 p.m.

Here is the Final Four schedule from Tampa, Fla.:

Final Four Game 1Friday, April 57 p.m.
Final Four Game 2Friday, April 59:30 p.m.
National ChampionshipSunday, April 76 p.m.

MORE: Women’s college basketball rankings

NCAA women’s basketball tournament: Future sites

2020New OrleansSmoothie King CenterApril 3 and 5
2021San AntonioAlamodomeApril 2 and 4
2022MinneapolisTarget CenterApril 1 and 3
2023DallasAmerican Airlines ArenaMarch 31 and April 2
2024ClevelandQuicken Loans ArenaApril 5 and 7

NCAA women’s basketball tournament: Champions, history

2018Notre Dame61-58Mississippi StateColumbus, Ohio
2017South Carolina67-55Mississippi StateDallas, Texas
2016UConn82-51SyracuseIndianapolis, Ind.
2015UConn63-53Notre DameTampa, Fla.
2014UConn79-58Notre DameNashville, Tenn.
2013UConn93-60LouisvilleNew Orleans, La.
2012Baylor80-61Notre DameDenver, Col.
2011Texas A&M76-70Notre DameIndianapolis, Ind.
2010UConn53-47StanfordSan Antonio, Texas
2009UConn76-54LouisvilleSt. Louis, Mo.
2008Tennessee64-48StanfordTampa, Fla.
2007Tennessee59-46RutgersCleveland, Ohio
2006Maryland78-75 (OT)DukeBoston, Mass.
2005Baylor84-62Michigan StateIndianapolis, Ind.
2004UConn70-61TennesseeNew Orleans, La.
2003UConn73-68TennesseeAtlanta, Ga.
2002UConn82-70OklahomaSan Antonio, Texas
2001Notre Dame68-66PurdueSt. Louis, Mo.
2000UConn71-52TennesseePhiladelphia, Pa.
1999Purdue62-45DukeSan Jose, Calif.
1998Tennessee93-75Louisiana TechKansas City, Mo.
1997Tennessee68-59Old DominionCincinnati, Ohio
1996Tennessee83-65GeorgiaCharlotte, N.C.
1995UConn70-64TennesseeMinneapolis, Minn.
1994North Carolina60-59Louisiana TechRichmond, Va.
1993Texas Tech84-82Ohio StateAtlanta, Ga.
1992Stanford78-62Western KentuckyLos Angeles, Calif.
1991Tennessee70-67 (OT)VirginiaNew Orleans, La.
1990Stanford88-81AuburnKnoxville, Tenn.
1989Tennessee76-60AuburnTacoma, Wash.
1988Louisiana Tech56-54AuburnTacoma, Wash.
1987Tennessee67-44Louisiana TechAustin, Texas
1986Texas97-81Southern CaliforniaLexington, Ky.
1985Old Dominion70-65GeorgiaAustin, Texas
1984Southern California72-61TennesseeLos Angeles, Calif.
1983Southern California69-67Louisiana TechNorfolk, Va.
1982Louisiana Tech76-62CheyneyNorfolk, Va.